Partial Eclipse at Sunrise

The banner photograph is called Partial Eclipse at Sunrise. I snapped it on November 3, 2013, from the dunes of Kitts Hummock Beach, overlooking Delaware Bay.

I’m a Delaware native who appreciates the natural beauty of the state and the human story accompanying it. I write about (and sometimes photograph) what I see on the surface – and underneath it.

Yes, my blog’s emphasis is local archaeology (from a strictly avocational viewpoint). However, in addition to digging, studying, and promoting the past, I am enthusiastic about many other things (like astronomy).

Now, when I say “human story” I do mean history. But I also mean something more – much more. It’s not just the words that those who had the training and leisure to write – historians, and the victors in the human struggle – wrote. I also refer to those who couldn’t write, wouldn’t write, and didn’t have the time to write. And when you include prehistory too, that’s a lot of people.

On that note, here is more on Kitts Hummock:

My grandparents, who invested in my love of reading, gave me the popular C.A. Weslager book Delaware’s Buried Past. In one chapter, I learned of the author’s investigation of hummocks on Delaware Bay, some of which were to be found (you guessed it) at this location east of Dover. It seems that earlier people in the area had employed themselves in oyster harvesting at summer camps on the shore. The heaps of discarded shells built up over the centuries.

In a different time, a different people (for the most part) perceived a resource in the lime-rich landforms. They carted away the shelly debris, and spread it on dirt roads and lanes throughout Kent county.

Some recognized that a record of past lives was being destroyed, because artifacts were also buried in the ancient refuse. A little of the human story therein was recovered. Most was irretrievably lost.

I think a photo of an eclipse is appropriate here.

The rising sun is so brilliant, that you can’t tell that it is partially eclipsed. I have a few other photos that I snapped before and after that one. If a nice picture of a normal sunrise was wanted, they could be considered rejects. Reflections of the sun in the camera’s lens (but also on the water, if you look for it) reveal an Cheshire Cat grin: almost half the disc is covered by another disc (the Moon). It’s inverted above the sun, and right side up below the sun. A couple other photos (not here) show the reflection (artifact) on one side or the other of the sun.

1103130635a

Here is a shot someone else more proficient with a camera than me took on a cloudier Mid-Atlantic beach…

solar-eclipse-james-currie-nov-3-2013-norfolk-virginia-med

(credit James Currie, in Norfolk, VA, November 3, 2013)

Yes, I’m offering an analogy. The take-away is this:  Further investigation and other methods often reveal more than the first glance. There is more to be seen of Delaware’s buried past than what might at first appear.

I invite you to read along as I look and learn, and look again.

Leave a Reply

